Leadership Team

R. Matthew Henry
President and CEO
mhenry@iwcnc.org
(828) 274-6050

James Caldwell
Programs Director
jcaldwell@iwcnc.org
(828) 778-1157

Nathan Johnson
Quality Improvement Director
njohnson@iwcnc.org
(828) 277-1907

Matthew Lands
Human Resources Director
mlands@iwcnc.org
(828) 274-6067

Maggi Ball
Finance Director
mball@iwcnc.org
(828)277-3405

Mary Ramirez
Nursing Coordinator
mramirez@iwcnc.org
(828)274-6063 ext. 162

Sydney Reichert
Development and Marketing Director
sreichert@iwcnc.org
(828) 274-6053

Early Learning Center
Aimee Spooner, Coordinator
aspooner@iwcnc.org
(828) 274-7518, ext 120

Supported Employment Program
Devin Gentry, Coordinator
dgentry@iwcnc.org
(828) 777-4188

Adult Day Activities/Community Networking
Joanna McDaniel, Coordinator

joanna@iwcnc.org
(828)768-2607

Residential
Thomas Dembinsky, Coordinator

tdembinsky@iwcnc.org
(828) 274-7518 ext. 241

 

Irene Wortham Center Board of Directors

 

Chad Whittemore - Chair - VP, Business Banking, First Citizens Bank

Wes McCall - Vice Chair - Co-owner/Director of Pharmacy Services, Blue Ridge Pharmacy

Mickey Dale - Treasurer - CPA, Johnson Price & Sprinkle

Dr. Larry Fisher - Secretary - Assistant Professor, Winthrop University

Candace Folks - Prior Chair - Human Resources Manager, PLI

Laura Brown - Member - RN, MSN Instructor, AB Tech

Rev. Anne Morgan - Member - Presbyterian Minister (retired)

Kara Nash - Member - RN, Autism Specialist, Your Autism Advocate

Rita Maddux - Member - Special Education Professional - "I learned about the Irene Wortham Center when exploring preschool options for my children.  As a special educator and parent, I was deeply impressed with their Early Learning Center and wanted to learn more about the Center as a whole.  After learning more, visiting the Center, and meeting the President & CEO, I knew that IWC was more than just a special place for early learners - it is a special place for people of all ages and I knew being a part of this community would be a huge privilege for me."

Ben Woody - Member - Director of Development Services Department, City of Asheville

Jason Gast - Member - Attorney Family Law - "I am proud of the work that the Irene Wortham Center has done over the years, but even more so during the COVID-19 crisis.  The staff and management have carefully crafted and implemented a plan to keep the IWC staff and clients safe, while still remaining in operation.  I am always impressed with how they handle difficult situations."

Jeff Hicks - Member - CEO, FernLeaf Interactive, LLC

Rhyna Simmers - Member - PEP Teacher, Estes Elementary School

Interested in serving on a board that supports individuals with developmental challenges? Contact Matt Henry at 828-274-6050mhenry@iwcnc.org